Thread Rating:
  • 254 Votes - 2.96 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Can't get this to work at all
02-18-2010, 09:08 AM
Post: #11
RE: Can't get this to work at all
Rich, I dug a little further on my site and found the index.php file which seems to be the one. Featurific code inserted itself automatically but I'm not sure it's in the right place.

Once again, thank you for all your efforts. I'm sure we'll get there, eventually. Even if I'm such a newbie!!

---------------------
<?php get_header(); ?>



<div id="main">



<div id="contentwrapper">


<?php
//Code automatically inserted by Featurific for Wordpress plugin
if(is_home()) //If we're generating the home page (remove this line to make Featurific appear on all pages)...
if(function_exists('insert_featurific')) //If the Featurific plugin is activated...
insert_featurific(); //Insert the HTML code to embed Featurific
?>
<?php if (have_posts()) : ?>

<?php while (have_posts()) : the_post(); ?>



<div class="topPost">

<h2 class="topTitle"><a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>"><?php the_title(); ?></a></h2>

<p class="topMeta">by <?php the_author_posts_link(); ?> on <?php the_time('M.d, Y') ?>, under <?php the_category(', '); ?></p>

<div class="topContent"><?php the_content('(continue reading...)'); ?></div>

<span class="topComments"><?php comments_popup_link('Deixe o seu comentário', '1 Commentário', '% Commentários'); ?></span>

<span class="topTags"><?php the_tags('<em>:</em>', ', ', ''); ?></span>

<span class="topMore"><a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>">more...</a></span>

<div class="cleared"></div>

</div> <!-- Closes topPost --><br/>



<?php endwhile; ?>



<?php else : ?>



<div class="topPost">

<h2 class="topTitle"><a href="<?php the_permalink() ?>">Não encontrado</a></h2>

<div class="topContent"><p>Desculpe mas está à procura de algo que não está aqui. Pode procurar no site usando <a href="#searchform">este formulário</a>...</p></div>

</div> <!-- Closes topPost -->



<?php endif; ?>



<div id="nextprevious">

<div class="alignleft"><?php posts_nav_link('','','&laquo; PREVIOUS ENTRIES') ?></div>

<div class="alignright"><?php posts_nav_link('','NEXT ENTRIES &raquo;','') ?></div>

<div class="cleared"></div>

</div>

</div> <!-- Closes contentwrapper-->







<?php get_sidebar(); ?>

<div class="cleared"></div>



</div><!-- Closes Main -->





<?php get_footer(); ?>
02-23-2010, 10:09 AM
Post: #12
RE: Can't get this to work at all
Hi there seco!

Ahhh yes - that seems to be the right file! It matches up with what I see at fotoviajar.com. I think I may know what the 'problem' is. Try this:

Find the line in the file that Featurific inserted that looks like this:

if(is_home()) //If we're generating the home page (remove this line to make Featurific appear on all pages)...

and replace it with this:

//if(is_home()) //If we're generating the home page (remove this line to make Featurific appear on all pages)...

Adding the '//' to the beginning of the line 'comments out' (aka disables) that particular line. I think Featurific might be confused about what your home page is, so that would cause it to not appear in this scenario.

Hope this helps! Smile
-Rich
Find all posts by this user
02-24-2010, 11:00 AM
Post: #13
RE: Can't get this to work at all
That is great, Rinogo. It's finally there. Now I'm going to try some places and configurations and decide which one is best for me.

Thanks a lot for your efforts and patience.

Luis Seco
02-24-2010, 11:04 AM
Post: #14
RE: Can't get this to work at all
You're welcome, Luis!

I'm glad we got it working. Now that we removed that line (commented it out), the only catch is that if the template is used anywhere else on your site, Featurific will appear there. As long as you're OK with that (if it is used anywhere else on your site - it might not even be reused at all), then you're all set!

Enjoy Featurific! Smile
-Rich
Find all posts by this user
02-25-2010, 04:02 AM
Post: #15
RE: Can't get this to work at all
Well... something else came up.

Sometimes I get this on my homepage.

"Fatal error: Allowed memory size of 33554432 bytes exhausted (tried to allocate 389580 bytes) in /home/moroccom/public_html/fotoviajar/wp-includes/wp-db.php on line 697"

It apeared after featurific started functioning so I'm pretty sure it's because of featurific.

Any ideas??
02-26-2010, 10:28 AM
Post: #16
RE: Can't get this to work at all
Hi again!

Do you know (more specifically) when the error appears? As far as I know, Featurific for Wordpress has a fairly small memory footprint. The only exception to this is when it has to download files from other websites (e.g when caching a remote file locally). In the case of images causing this problem, just hit your main page after you post a post and make sure that you don't get the error. Keep trying until the error goes away, and you *should* be ok.

As I mentioned, Featurific should be very low on memory usage. You're on a shared host, I imagine, correct? This can also mean that your host is trying to squeeze too many users onto one server, which can cause these errors.

-Rich
Find all posts by this user


Possibly Related Threads...
Thread: Author Replies: Views: Last Post
  Cannot get to work in theme where it is pre-installed andreao 0 1,561 03-12-2012 02:05 AM
Last Post: andreao
  Getting FEATURIFIC to work on my Home Static Page bribiz 1 4,242 05-29-2010 07:04 AM
Last Post: rinogo
  Will the Featurific Plugin Work On Custom Template Pages bribiz 1 3,838 05-29-2010 07:02 AM
Last Post: rinogo
  Static Page - How do I get it to work bribiz 1 3,531 05-29-2010 06:59 AM
Last Post: rinogo
  how does it work? helablog 3 3,355 05-20-2010 07:55 AM
Last Post: rinogo
  Plugin doesn't work on a fresh WP installation danicasati 1 4,008 11-12-2009 11:37 AM
Last Post: rinogo
  Getting code to work Guest 1 2,721 09-19-2009 04:27 AM
Last Post: rinogo
  Does it work for a free wordpress blog? Guest 1 2,977 04-01-2009 07:22 AM
Last Post: rinogo
  Most read in last X days don't work Guest 1 4,504 02-10-2009 05:04 AM
Last Post: rinogo

Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)